Formula E has confirmed the Hyderabad E-Prix will not go ahead after the event was previously thrown into doubt following a change to the local government.

The Municipal Adm inistration and Urban Development Department (MAUD), under the control of the newly-elected government in the Indian state of Telangana, had made Formula E aware that it would not be fulfilling an agreement made back on Oct. 30 to host the race. The race had been scheduled to run on Feb. 10 and was part of a multi-year deal.

Formula E confirmed that it will not be replacing the Hyderabad E-Prix, reducing the upcoming season to 16 races across 10 events. The series also said that it has “been left with no choice other than to formally give notice to MAUD that it is in breach of contract,” and that it is “considering its position and what steps it may take under the Host City Agreement and applicable laws.”

“It is deeply frustrating that we cannot build on the success of the inaugural race last year, which delivered almost $84m USD in positive economic impact to the region,” said Formula E CEO Jeff Dodds. “We are also disappointed for our major Indian partners, particularly Mahindra and Tata Communications.

“Racing in Hyderabad was important to showcase the benefits of adopting electric vehicles in a market where pollution from vehicle engines has a massive impact on public health and the environment.”

Alberto Longo, co-founder and chief championship officer at Formula E, added, “We are extremely disappointed for the huge motorsport fan base in India. We know that hosting an official motorsport world championship race is an important and prestigious occasion for Hyderabad and the whole country.

“The president of the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI), Akbar Ebrahim, and his team have been incredibly supportive in bringing Formula E back to Hyderabad. They share our disappointment in the decision of the Government of Telangana, which means that will not happen.”

The 2024 Hyderabad E-Prix would have been the second Formula E race in India in as many years, as well as the only FIA world championship event taking place in the country in 2024. India previously held Formula 1 grands prix at the Budh International Circuit near Greater Noida between 2011-13.

The ABB Formula E Championship season opens Saturday, Jan. 13 in Mexico City.