With Andretti Global’s choice to focus its efforts on a smaller program next year, the size of the next full-season NTT IndyCar Series grid is taking shape.

Chevrolet, the defending Manufacturers’ champion, has 12 full-timers on the books for 2024, and Honda Performance Development, winners of the Drivers’ title with Alex Palou, is currently preparing to support 15.

It means the same 12/15 share of the field and the same total count of 27 cars is expected to be carried over from last season. The only numerical changes within the 27 entries come from Honda’s camp, with Andretti trimming from four cars to three and Ganassi growing from four cars to five.

The only caveat on HPD’s supply is the fourth engine it’s obligated to provide for Andretti if the team were to go away from its three-car plan and run a fourth. Provided the team stays at three, RACER understands HPD will not actively pursue the placement of a 16th

full-season engine lease and will only consider making a 16th available if a team presented a compelling reason to utilize the 2.2-liter twin-turbo V6 hybrid powerplant.

Projected field:

A.J. Foyt Racing (2): No. 14 Chevrolet (to be determined), No. 55 Chevrolet (likely Benjamin Pedersen)

Andretti Global (3): No. 26 Honda (Colton Herta), No. 27 Honda (Kyle Kirkwood), No. 28 Honda (Marcus Ericsson)

Arrow McLaren (3): No. 5 Chevrolet (Pato O’Ward), No. 6 Chevrolet (David Malukas), No. 7 Chevrolet (Alexander Rossi)

Chip Ganassi Racing (5): No. 8 Honda (Linus Lundqvist), No. 9 Honda (Scott Dixon), No. 10 Honda (Alex Palou), No. 11 Honda (Marcus Armstrong), No. TBD Honda (Kyffin Simpson)

Dale Coyne Racing (2): No. 18 Honda (TBD), No. 51 Honda (TBD)

Ed Carpenter Racing (2): No. 20 Chevrolet (Christian Rasmussen, Ed Carpenter), No. 21 Chevrolet (Rinus VeeKay)

Juncos Hollinger Racing (2): No. 77 Chevrolet (Romain Grosjean), No. 78 Chevrolet (Agustin Canapino)

Meyer Shank Racing (2): No. 06 Honda (Tom Blomqvist), No. 60 Honda (Felix Rosenqvist)

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (3): No. 15 Honda (Graham Rahal), No. 30 Honda (Pietro Fittipaldi), No. 45 Honda (Christian Lundgaard)

Team Penske (3): No. 2 Chevrolet (Josef Newgarden), No. 3 Chevrolet (Scott McLaughlin), No. 12 Chevrolet (Will Power)

Looking to the Indianapolis 500,  Chevrolet will handle the majority of the extra entries for the month of May: its full-season roster of 12 could grow to 18. Two Indy-only cars have already been confirmed with Arrow McLaren and Hendrick Motorsports teaming up to run Kyle Larson and ECR running a car for Rasmussen. Add in two from Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, and the count rises to 16, leaving the Foyts, Abel Motorsports, and others to vie for a remaining slot with the Bowtie.

HPD’s 15 full-timers makes Indy 500 expansion a challenge for most of its teams, but MSR will take the number up to 16 with a car for Helio Castroneves and Andretti should have the 17th for May with Marco Andretti, who remains unconfirmed.

RLL is the other main player in the Honda Indy engine sweepstakes and, despite its recent struggles at the Speedway, has no shortage of drivers who are pining to drive a fourth entry.

Although it’s too early to say how many drivers will attempt to qualify for the great race, there’s a pathway to have more than 33 cars in the line to try and earn a spot for the Brickyard’s first hybrid Indy 500.